The 2021 Soul Train Awards Airs November 28th on BET from The Apollo Theatre

It’s all about Love, Peace, and SOUUUUL!

All Aboard! Let’s pop a seat on the “Hippest trip in America”, as the Soul Train Awards are back for it’s 33rd year. This time, the train is changing its course and hopping on tracks that will lead to its next stop, Harlem, New York. That’s right, for the first time ever in history, the award show will take place at the world-renowned Apollo Theatre, filming live on November 20th. With all of the newness taking place, we can expect to see some “old friends”, as dynamic best-friend duo Tisha Campbell and Tichina Arnold will return as co-hosts of the ceremonies.

Celebrating the best in soul music and the television show’s 50th anniversary, the “Soul Train Awards” recognizes the best in Soul, R&B, and Hip Hop from both established industry legends and the next generation of promising artists. The 2021 “Soul Train Awards” premieres Sunday, November 28 at 8 pm ET/PT on BET and BET Her.

Let’s get ready for a night to remember with performances by R&B super duo Silk Sonic, R&B/Soul songstress Ari Lennox, soul singer/songwriter and producer Leon Bridges, R&B singer Lucky Daye. In addition to traditional performances, you know that we’ll be blessed with another round of highly anticipated Soul-Cypher. Led by DJ D-Nice, the cypher this year will feature Musiq SoulchildJac RossKoryn HawthorneElle Varner, and Tone Stith.

H.E.R. leads the pack of nominees with an astounding 8 nods, including the big three, ‘Best R&B/Soul Female Artist,’ ‘Song of the Year,’ & ‘Album of the Year’. Jazmine Sullivan and Chris Brown come in at a close second most nods with six nominations each a piece, and Wiz Kid and TEMS each have five nods. Jazmine is up against H.E.R. for the big three, while some of Chris’ nominations include “Best R&B/Soul Male Artist,”, “Video of the Year” and “Best Dance Performance”. BET is also set to honor one of R&B’s biggest artists from over the last 30 years, Maxwell, as he is due to be bestowed with the “Legend” award and Ashanti will be the recipient of the “Lady of Soul” honor.

Invite some friends over, or even get a group Zoom watch party going, because this is going to be an event you aren’t going to want to miss! In the meantime, check out Soul Train’s official twitter account, where they are taking us down memory lane with some memories of STA past.

See below for the full list of 2021 Soul Train Awards official nominees.

Song of the Year

Blxst feat. Ty Dolla $Ign & Tyga – “Chosen”

Bruno Mars, Anderson. Paak (Silk Sonic) – “Leave the Door Open”

H.E.R. – “Damage”

Jazmine Sullivan – “Pick Up Your Feelings”

Wizkid feat. Tems – “Essence”

Yung Bleu feat. Drake – “You’re Mines Still”

Album of the Year

Blxst – No Love Lost

Doja Cat – Planet Her

Giveon – When It’s All Said and Done… Take Time

H.E.R. – Back of My Mind

Jazmine Sullivan – Heaux Tales

Wizkid – Made in Lagos

Video of the Year

Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak (Silk Sonic) – “Leave the Door Open”

Chris Brown, Young Thug feat. Future, Lil Durk, Latto – “Go Crazy (Remix)”

H.E.R. – “Damage”

Jazmine Sullivan – “Pick Up Your Feelings”

Normani feat. Cardi B – “Wild Side”

Wizkid feat. Tems – “Essence”

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist

Alicia Keys

Doja Cat


Jazmine Sullivan

Jhené Aiko


Best R&B/Soul Male Artist


Chris Brown


Lucky Daye



Best Collaboration

Chris Brown, Young Thug feat. Future, Lil Durk, Latto – “Go Crazy (Remix)”

Doja Cat feat. SZA – “Kiss Me More”

H.E.R. feat. Chris Brown – “Come Through”

Jazmine Sullivan feat. H.E.R. – “Girl Like Me”

Wizkid feat. Tems – “Essence”

Yung Bleu feat. Drake – “You’re Mines Still”

Best New Artist


Capella Grey



Tone Stith

Yung Bleu

Certified Soul Award

Anthony Hamilton


Charlie Wilson

The Isley Brothers

Jam & Lewis


Best Dance Performance

Chloe X Halle – “Ungodly Hour”

Chris Brown, Young Thug – “City Girls”

Lizzo Feat. Cardi B – “Rumors”

Normani Feat. Cardi B- “Wild Side”

Usher – “Bad Habits”

Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

Brian Courtney Wilson

James Fortune

Kelly Price

Kirk Franklin

Maverick City Music

Tasha Cobbs Leonard

The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award

“Can’t Let It Show” – written by: Kate Bush, Durrell Babbs (Tank)

“Come Through” – written by: Carl Mccormick, Chris Brown, H.E.R., Kelvin Wooten, Michael L. Williams Ii, Tiara Thomas (H.E.R. Feat. Chris Brown)

“Damage” – written by: Anthony Clemons Jr., Carl Mccormick, H.E.R., James Harris, Jeff Gitelman, Terry Lewis, Tiara Thomas (H.E.R.)

“Essence” – written by: Ayodeji Ibrahim Balogun, Oniko Eddie Uzezi, Oniko Evawero, Richard Isong, Temilade Openiyi (Wizkid Feat. Tems)

“Leave the Door Open” – written by: Bruno Mars, Brandon Anderson, Dernst Emile Ii, Christopher Brody Brown (Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic)

“Pick Up Your Feelings” – written by: Blue June, Chi, Audra Mae Butts, Jazmine Sullivan, Kyle Coleman, Michael Holmes (Jazmine Sullivan)

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *